Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
why SSH/Dropbear if Telnet is enable ?
11-01-2008, 11:49 AM
Post: #1
why SSH/Dropbear if Telnet is enable ?
Does someone should be kind enough to explain to a noob like me what's the point to install dropbear if you already have Telnet working ?
BlushconfusedBlush

Ampli A/V:Denon AVR-4308 (HDMI)
Video :Pioneer PDP506-XDE+Panasonic PT-AE1000U (HDMI)
PCH A-110:Firm 01-17-081023-15
C2OOFirm 02-01-090904-19
NAS:Readynas NV+ 4To & QNAP TS-509 5To
Wired Cat 6 net :Belink N1 V
Find all posts by this user
11-01-2008, 09:11 PM
Post: #2
RE: why SSH/Dropbear if Telnet is enable ?
Dropbear offers SSH
Find all posts by this user
11-02-2008, 07:52 PM
Post: #3
RE: why SSH/Dropbear if Telnet is enable ?
The biggest advantage to using SSH (which is what DropBear gives you) is security. The telnet server for the PCH offers no security (you telnet to your PCH, and you're automatically connected with root priveledges), so if you have a port on your firewall open for telnet, anyone can connect to your PCH and do whatever they want to your machine.

Players: A-100 & ShowCenter 1000G
Storage: Maxtor DiamondMax 10 300GB
TV: Sanyo DP50747 (720P) 50" Plasma
Server: AMD Athlon64 3200+, 1.5GB RAM, 1.8 TB storage, SwissCenter on Ubuntu
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
11-02-2008, 09:23 PM
Post: #4
RE: why SSH/Dropbear if Telnet is enable ?
So security is the only advantage.

Thank you for your clear and quick answer.

SmileSmile

Ampli A/V:Denon AVR-4308 (HDMI)
Video :Pioneer PDP506-XDE+Panasonic PT-AE1000U (HDMI)
PCH A-110:Firm 01-17-081023-15
C2OOFirm 02-01-090904-19
NAS:Readynas NV+ 4To & QNAP TS-509 5To
Wired Cat 6 net :Belink N1 V
Find all posts by this user
11-03-2008, 01:38 PM
Post: #5
RE: why SSH/Dropbear if Telnet is enable ?
Using Dropbear you can copy files on SSL. (scp)
You can create secure tunnel from the NET to your PCH (eg 8883 port the BT client), or any IP in your local network.
(I use PCH dropbear to secure connent me to my Windows Remote Desktop on my PC).
Find all posts by this user
11-03-2008, 01:46 PM
Post: #6
RE: why SSH/Dropbear if Telnet is enable ?
indeed. If you ONLY need to acces PCH from inside network (LAN) you can do without SSH. But is you want to acces from the Internet you MUST use SSH, else everybody can access your PCH WITHOUT password.

C-200 + A-410 + Samsung 46F8500 +SONY STR-DB 870 QS

C-200 Dutch manual: download it here.
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  DropBear ssh client - key auth issue serek 0 4,196 12-28-2011 01:05 AM
Last Post: serek
  Unable to modify FTP password with telnet goutbouyo 1 1,218 11-08-2011 10:51 PM
Last Post: goutbouyo
  Need help debugging a simple script to enable NTFS write on HDD user33 10 4,397 04-05-2011 06:05 PM
Last Post: nuke12
  Telnet jobs stop after exit Boogje 6 3,310 07-16-2010 01:20 PM
Last Post: lordy
Video Telnet OK / Play button kdavid 14 4,292 03-19-2010 02:23 AM
Last Post: rolandhii
  NMT telnet control kdavid 4 3,875 03-16-2010 02:43 PM
Last Post: kdavid
  Re-enable the network share from command line? glorifyday 0 2,194 03-04-2010 05:06 PM
Last Post: glorifyday
  Start samba service via telnet? gregg098 1 3,248 02-21-2010 02:28 PM
Last Post: DaTiezl
  Telnet Login & Password kr4m17 3 3,702 02-21-2010 07:55 AM
Last Post: dc11ab
  is "tcp forwarding" possible with dropbear? rsanper 2 5,262 02-17-2010 04:38 PM
Last Post: rsanper

Forum Jump: