Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
More then one Internal HD
11-06-2009, 10:48 PM
Post: #1
Information More then one Internal HD
Ok,

I have a PCH A-110 with a 1.5tb drive installed. What are my options as far as adding more HD space? I currently have less than 100gb left and i have more movies movies i would like to rip into the PCH. My restrains is that i move my PCH around all the time (my family and friends always borrow it) so streaming or having a NAS wont really work for me as i need to be able to take the unit with me. I seen people add USB external drives to get more HD space but how will that work with YAMJ? would i need to have a library for each Hard drive? Has anyone else been able to permanently install an External USB Drive to the PCH by doing some Mods to the PCH case? I work for en Engineering firm and i can easily fabricate a new housing to hold the added hard drives but before i do that i want to see if that is even possible. Any suggestions?
Find all posts by this user
11-07-2009, 04:58 AM
Post: #2
RE: More then one Internal HD
I don't know about modding the box, but I can confirm that Yamj will work with multiple Drives (upto 256 USB, I beleive), you just need to add the new hard disc to your library that Yamj scans.

Personally I would (and in fact have) just get a small USB enclosre and carry that as well as the PCH, instead of trying to hack away at the original case.
Find all posts by this user
11-07-2009, 10:08 AM
Post: #3
RE: More then one Internal HD
There's no reason why you couldn't replace the entire case... the mobo on the A110 is pretty simple, so if you can make a case which can house it, you could design it anyway you want.

Since there's only one SATA, you would have to use USB drives, but hooking up a hub and power inside the new case wouldn't be too difficult...

If you do every make a new case, post a pic....
Find all posts by this user
11-09-2009, 09:07 PM
Post: #4
RE: More then one Internal HD
(11-07-2009 10:08 AM)say170 Wrote:  There's no reason why you couldn't replace the entire case... the mobo on the A110 is pretty simple, so if you can make a case which can house it, you could design it anyway you want.

Since there's only one SATA, you would have to use USB drives, but hooking up a hub and power inside the new case wouldn't be too difficult...

If you do every make a new case, post a pic....

working on it now and will post my results soon. Thanks for the information guys!
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  how to get myihome lite on internal hdd jenkyceej 1 1,936 05-20-2011 03:14 PM
Last Post: dc11ab
  Android app to access internal hdd crisarn 3 2,924 10-02-2010 12:03 PM
Last Post: dc11ab
  Rename folders on internal storage ricardoph 1 1,713 08-17-2010 05:25 PM
Last Post: Willem53
  Transfering files from the internal HDD on a USB Drive rypm77 5 3,227 07-25-2010 01:11 PM
Last Post: JackSpratt
  copy files from external hd to internal hd fadafwet 4 2,759 07-23-2010 03:05 AM
Last Post: fadafwet
  Loss internal drive when using community inst.. tunafish 0 1,763 03-11-2010 01:20 PM
Last Post: tunafish
  Is it possible to have internal HDD with HFS+ with a pch theme installed? tripkip 2 1,765 01-20-2010 11:14 AM
Last Post: tripkip
  Internal HDD spindown stops my USB HDD. Keralis 0 1,594 01-15-2010 09:47 PM
Last Post: Keralis
  starting on internal disk harrykausl 0 1,195 12-27-2009 12:17 PM
Last Post: harrykausl
  Telnet and Syabas or User Apps without an internal drive emveepee 30 19,781 11-16-2009 11:39 AM
Last Post: dc11ab

Forum Jump: