Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Thread Closed 
Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
12-30-2009, 08:14 AM (This post was last modified: 12-31-2009 05:19 AM by gtdaqua.)
Post: #1
Exclamation Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
First, I apologize. Many of you might be annoyed of this topic. Yes, I read the 24-page thread about multichannel-flac and people voting for its inclusion. But that didnt quite answer my questions because there was too much unnecessary stuff (for me) involved there talking about optical and coaxial cable bandwidths.

I have a HDX 1000. I am getting a Yamaha 6250 Receiver capable of DTS-HD, Dolby TrueHD and LPCM. HDX 1000 will be connected to it to get HD Audio. No optical/coaxial cables are involved. Only HDMI is used for audio and video.

(My Receiver is capable of handling: Multi-channel (upto 8) Linear PCM / 32-192Khz / 24-bit)

Now, is it possible to get the multichannel-flac (5.1/7.1) lossless audio via a ts/m2ts container file? (Forget mkv - I will use ts/m2ts). The idea is to get the true lossless audio inside the flac without any compression or down-mixing.

UPDATE: Applies to 100 series (and HDX 1000 etc)
ANSWER: NO. ts/m2ts containers do not recognize FLAC tracks yet! But Multi-channel individual FLAC file can be played via an HDMI cable. Muxing mutli-channel FLAC inside MKV is also useless, because currently NMT's can't recognize HD Audio in MKV containers.

If it is possible, in what format the audio will be sent to the receiver? That means, what will the receiver display for the audio format being played? I assume its LPCM.
ANSWER: See above.

So, just these 2 simple questions. Thank you!!!!

HDX 1000 | ViewSonic Pro8200 | Yamaha 6250 AVR |
BIC FH6-LCR Centre | Cerwin-Vega VE-5C L/R | Cerwin-Vega VE-5M Surround |
Yamaha YST-SW215 8" Sub | Logitech Harmony 650
Find all posts by this user
12-30-2009, 10:58 AM
Post: #2
RE: Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
FLAC in a video container is not supported on the 100 Series IIRC.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
12-30-2009, 11:57 AM (This post was last modified: 12-30-2009 11:58 AM by jj666.)
Post: #3
RE: Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
I don't think it's even possible to mux .FLAC in .TS. You'd need to use .MKV anyway, which as mentioned, doesn't work with multichannel in A-1x0 family.

-jj-
Find all posts by this user
12-30-2009, 12:37 PM
Post: #4
RE: Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
(12-30-2009 11:57 AM)jj666 Wrote:  I don't think it's even possible to mux .FLAC in .TS. You'd need to use .MKV anyway, which as mentioned, doesn't work with multichannel in A-1x0 family.

-jj-

Correct! So, basically its all a big NO then!

But there could be a way around. Say, if I converted the flac to 24-bit PCM multi-channel wav file, would I then be able to mux it to ts/m2ts and enjoy lossless audio?

HDX 1000 | ViewSonic Pro8200 | Yamaha 6250 AVR |
BIC FH6-LCR Centre | Cerwin-Vega VE-5C L/R | Cerwin-Vega VE-5M Surround |
Yamaha YST-SW215 8" Sub | Logitech Harmony 650
Find all posts by this user
12-30-2009, 01:39 PM (This post was last modified: 12-30-2009 01:47 PM by gtdaqua.)
Post: #5
RE: Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
As I understand,

1. Mutli-channel FLAC cannot be inserted in to ts/m2ts containers.
2. It can be inserted into MKV container but currently NMT doesnt support pass-through of any HD Audio via MKV.

So, Multichannel-FLAC audio, along with video cannot be played in its original format even with a pure HDMI-only setup.

However, multi-channel FLAC individual audio files (like WAV, FLAC) can be played in its original format via HDMI cable.

The reason attributed to Point 2 is that Haali doesn't support HD Audio inside MKV yet. Well, things have changed because, the latest version of Haali supports HD Audio inside MKV containers.

This is their latest changelog from http://haali.su/mkv/
Code:
Haali Media Splitter
Changes

    * 19/12/2009
          o New Features:
                + Added a 64-bit version
                + A shell extension was removed from the splitter. This will be available seprately at a later date.
                + [b]Added truehd and mlp support for Matroska files and transpor(sic) streams.[/b]
          o Fixed items:
                + Fixed lpcm in transport streams support

HDX 1000 | ViewSonic Pro8200 | Yamaha 6250 AVR |
BIC FH6-LCR Centre | Cerwin-Vega VE-5C L/R | Cerwin-Vega VE-5M Surround |
Yamaha YST-SW215 8" Sub | Logitech Harmony 650
Find all posts by this user
12-30-2009, 02:32 PM
Post: #6
RE: Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
Are you talking solely about the 100 series as the 200 already supports FLAC in an MKV?

100 series cannot do it due to resource requirements IIRC. So nothing to do with what haali can or cannot split.

Moving on to HD Audio and haali. The changelog only shows TrueHD, what about DTS-HD in MKV?

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
12-30-2009, 05:38 PM
Post: #7
RE: Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
(12-30-2009 02:32 PM)chris57 Wrote:  Are you talking solely about the 100 series as the 200 already supports FLAC in an MKV?

100 series cannot do it due to resource requirements IIRC. So nothing to do with what haali can or cannot split.

Moving on to HD Audio and haali. The changelog only shows TrueHD, what about DTS-HD in MKV?

Right. So, mulit-channel FLAC doesn't work on video in 100 series. Mine is an HDX 1000.

Not sure about DTS-HD in haali.

HDX 1000 | ViewSonic Pro8200 | Yamaha 6250 AVR |
BIC FH6-LCR Centre | Cerwin-Vega VE-5C L/R | Cerwin-Vega VE-5M Surround |
Yamaha YST-SW215 8" Sub | Logitech Harmony 650
Find all posts by this user
12-31-2009, 04:56 AM
Post: #8
RE: Simple question about multi-channel FLAC in a pure HDMI setup
You got it the HDX1000 is a 100 series player with the 8635 chip (333mhz) which doesn't have the same power as the 200 series (667mhz+333mhz).

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  technical question on decoder perez-balen 1 487 02-22-2014 09:59 PM
Last Post: halfelite
  Need advice on wireless audio setup iampoch 0 792 05-12-2013 11:45 PM
Last Post: iampoch
  Question for Werner, Moderators and offciel Developers... Kasimodo 0 993 10-25-2012 10:06 AM
Last Post: Kasimodo
  Forum question... Opentoe 3 1,086 10-07-2012 04:18 PM
Last Post: Willem53
  A-400 question.... Opentoe 13 4,085 10-07-2012 02:53 AM
Last Post: chris57
  Question about layout of new house dcusick 10 2,096 09-23-2012 01:02 PM
Last Post: Atinkler
  A-300 jukebox update question Vaughan 8 2,394 07-20-2012 07:27 AM
Last Post: Vaughan
  Stupid question time: How do I order a C300? BKSinAZ 1 1,277 02-19-2012 08:19 PM
Last Post: accident
  Question About Hard Drive And Keyboard djgaurav 4 2,101 02-04-2012 09:09 AM
Last Post: djgaurav
  Question about PH capabilities AmberWolfe 1 1,162 01-27-2012 04:39 AM
Last Post: halfelite

Forum Jump: