Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread:
Thread Closed 
Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
10-29-2010, 12:34 AM
Post: #1
Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
Is anyone else experiencing problems with the AC3 audio from DVD's? Virtually every DVD I have ripped and converted to MKV with the AC3 6-ch sound has horrible sounding audio- particularly when compared with a DTS file using the same receiver volume. I have tried several approaches to increasing the gain or normalizing the volume- none of which produces much improvement. The only thing that has worked is when I convert to a WMA, using the WMA9 audio. It's louder, but its matrixed. Better volume but you woudl think that Dolby woudl produce a much better sound than what I get. Does anyone know of any reason the playback would be so completely differnt between DTS and DD AC3?

Could any of this be caused (or remedied) by the PCH hardware or settings?
Find all posts by this user
10-29-2010, 12:37 AM
Post: #2
RE: Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
I have no problems playing AC3 audio and it sounds fine. What does it sound like?
Find all posts by this user
10-29-2010, 12:51 AM
Post: #3
RE: Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
did you tell the ripper to passthru the ac3 soundtrack?

what ripper did you use

I used Handbrake to rip all my dvds and have no sound problems with DD

All advice is supplied packaged by intellectual weight, and not by volume. Contents may settle slightly in transit.
Find all posts by this user
10-29-2010, 12:52 AM (This post was last modified: 10-29-2010 12:59 AM by rstoddard.)
Post: #4
RE: Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
(10-29-2010 12:37 AM)halfelite Wrote:  I have no problems playing AC3 audio and it sounds fine. What does it sound like?

halfelite: Well, it sounds like teh volume is about 1/2 of the volume generated from the DTS audio. In addition, it's a flat, lifeless sound (I'm tallking about music videos, where there is a lot of sound to put out). It's like going from a high-end stereo to a transister radio. It's so bad, I see no reason to even copy or play it.
(10-29-2010 12:51 AM)zombiehunter Wrote:  did you tell the ripper to passthru the ac3 soundtrack?

what ripper did you use

I used Handbrake to rip all my dvds and have no sound problems with DD

zombiehunter: I use DVDFAb to rip. Yes, I only keep the 6-ch AC3 audio, and verify it with MedioInfo when complete. Then I package it in an MKV container (MakeMKV) and move to the PCH.

Keep in mind I'm not saying there is no audio.... sure I get sound from all 6 channels, but if I play a DTS recording before a DD track, you can hear a BIG difference in the volume and dynamic of the sound. I suppose it wouldn't be as noticable if you were only playing 2 hour movies (and just adjust the volume to your liking), but you can really hear the differnce with you have a mix of DTS and DD audio tracks playing.
Find all posts by this user
10-29-2010, 06:08 AM
Post: #5
RE: Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
Are you using A110?

If so, it is an issue I have raised many times to deaf ears

egreat 31B doesnt have the same problem

also, when you switch to a supplied DD 2.0 track, the volume magically increases!

Proud owner of egreat, PCH and WDTV
Find all posts by this user
[+] 1 user says Thank You to mrdenn1s for this post
10-29-2010, 05:54 PM
Post: #6
RE: Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
(10-29-2010 06:08 AM)mrdenn1s Wrote:  Are you using A110?

If so, it is an issue I have raised many times to deaf ears

egreat 31B doesnt have the same problem

also, when you switch to a supplied DD 2.0 track, the volume magically increases!

THANKS mrdenn1s! Yes, I'm using the A110. I have been considering upgrading. Do you think that may make a differnce? What is it in the A110 that might be contributing to the problem? I will aso look into the DD 2.0 audio track... I had been think ing about looking in that direction, and possible even trying to convert the DD 2.0 back to AC3 and see if anything improves.
Find all posts by this user
10-30-2010, 05:16 AM
Post: #7
RE: Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
Are you watching on a TV only, you have no multichannel setup?

The 200 series used to have far lower audio levels for DD output then DTS or AC3. This is fixed on the 200 series and for example the WEB-DL downloads now play at the same level as DTS/AC3.

If you are thinking of upgrading then go for an upgrade and not a player like the eGreat as its the same chip as the A110 and has its own problems that the A110 doesn't have. Still a good player but you won't see the extra performance you will from the new chip in the 200 series or the new features and upcoming NMJ UI.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
11-08-2010, 11:39 PM
Post: #8
RE: Problems with AC3 (Dolby Digital) Playback
(10-30-2010 05:16 AM)chris57 Wrote:  Are you watching on a TV only, you have no multichannel setup?

The 200 series used to have far lower audio levels for DD output then DTS or AC3. This is fixed on the 200 series and for example the WEB-DL downloads now play at the same level as DTS/AC3.

If you are thinking of upgrading then go for an upgrade and not a player like the eGreat as its the same chip as the A110 and has its own problems that the A110 doesn't have. Still a good player but you won't see the extra performance you will from the new chip in the 200 series or the new features and upcoming NMJ UI.

Thansk Chris. I didn't know about this differnce between teh A110 and the A200. I just received my new A200 PCH today ..... sounds like I may hear a big difference in the audio output. I will post comments after installing everything if this help improve the AC3 audio output.

PS: Yes, I have a A/V mutichannel receiver that receives all of the audio and video from the PCH. The audio is handled by teh receiver and the video is passed HDMI to the HDTV. I don't use any the TV audio at all.

Ron
Find all posts by this user
Thread Closed 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  A300 Versus A400 for BD ISO Playback jfreytag 14 1,965 09-26-2013 05:25 AM
Last Post: jfreytag
  S300 Digital Signage unit cobba 1 783 07-30-2013 01:15 PM
Last Post: rolandhii
  Perfect 23.976 playback ? Libeluratio 2 1,489 03-08-2012 04:32 PM
Last Post: chris57
  Has playback of Ordered Chapters ever been implemented? buzzbuzz 2 990 03-05-2012 10:12 AM
Last Post: buzzbuzz
  Will A-300 upgrade from A-110 solve my problems (Playon compatibility)? Alexbo 16 4,944 01-31-2012 04:11 PM
Last Post: accident
  3D BluRay Iso playback Marvos 5 6,826 01-10-2012 03:01 PM
Last Post: chris57
  3D MKV movie playback on non 3D Display? Buffen 2 3,130 08-24-2011 03:16 AM
Last Post: chris57
  Digital video recorder for TV to play on NMT? jonnydanger 6 3,526 05-07-2011 03:50 PM
Last Post: jonnydanger
  Dolby TrueHD, DTS-MA Decoding and PCM Uncompressed sckramer 1 2,459 04-11-2011 10:09 PM
Last Post: halfelite
  CSI download problems ianny 2 1,727 03-26-2011 11:13 PM
Last Post: ianny

Forum Jump: