Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
05-01-2011, 12:59 PM
Post: #1
Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
Hi everyone.

I am in the middle of getting a slingbox to stream my cableTV around the house.

I want to use my PCH just as a slingcatcher.

So the setup would be:

Cabletv -> DVB-C box -> slingbox -> PCH.

do enyone have experience with setting this up
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-01-2011, 01:15 PM
Post: #2
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
Can't be done. The Slingbox stream is encrypted and requires either a SlingCatcher or a computer running the SlingPlayer application. Also, the video quality is not very good for a TV. It's fine for viewing on a laptop or a phone. I have my C-200 connected to my Slingbox component input so I can watch it on my laptop when traveling or on my Android phone anytime.

Linksys E3000 (DD-WRT) - Cisco SG 200-08 - Synology DS1812+ - A-400 - Yamaha RX-V671 - Panasonic TC-P55GT30
C-200 w/ MN-200 WiFi - 30" Philips.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-01-2011, 01:24 PM
Post: #3
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
Ok, thanks for the info.

Am going to use the HD-PRO, so hope the quality will be as good as promised ( HD Tongue ).

Then I will find something else to use my PCH for when the slingbox+catcher arrives.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-01-2011, 02:51 PM
Post: #4
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
(05-01-2011 01:24 PM)selbach Wrote:  Am going to use the HD-PRO, so hope the quality will be as good as promised ( HD Tongue ).

The Pro-HD is designed to stream good quality video over the internet but DON'T expect anywhere near the video quality a PCH will display when playing a HD movie. This includes streaming the Pro-HD to a Slingcatcher on your local network. Actually the video quality is better when using Slingplayer on a laptop vs the Slingcatcher.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2011, 07:57 AM
Post: #5
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
(05-01-2011 02:51 PM)nuke12 Wrote:  
(05-01-2011 01:24 PM)selbach Wrote:  Am going to use the HD-PRO, so hope the quality will be as good as promised ( HD Tongue ).

The Pro-HD is designed to stream good quality video over the internet but DON'T expect anywhere near the video quality a PCH will display when playing a HD movie. This includes streaming the Pro-HD to a Slingcatcher on your local network. Actually the video quality is better when using Slingplayer on a laptop vs the Slingcatcher.

So you are saying it will not be FullHD that I will get from the Pro-HD?
It will be put on a 60/60mbit connection, so speed should not be the problem
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-02-2011, 10:36 AM
Post: #6
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
(05-02-2011 07:57 AM)selbach Wrote:  So you are saying it will not be FullHD that I will get from the Pro-HD?
It will be put on a 60/60mbit connection, so speed should not be the problem

The Pro-HD is designed so it can connect to a HD source but that does not mean it displays HD quality. For example;
1) My satellite receiver streams at about 8 Mb/s on a HD channel.
2) Full blu-ray can hit 40 Mb/s.
3) The Pro-HD streams at about 3 Mb/s on a Gb lan with a HD source.

Look at the bitrates and you can prorate the video quality. The Pro-HD also only streams 2 channel audio even when provided with a 5.1 source.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2011, 10:02 AM
Post: #7
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
(05-02-2011 10:36 AM)nuke12 Wrote:  
(05-02-2011 07:57 AM)selbach Wrote:  So you are saying it will not be FullHD that I will get from the Pro-HD?
It will be put on a 60/60mbit connection, so speed should not be the problem

The Pro-HD is designed so it can connect to a HD source but that does not mean it displays HD quality. For example;
1) My satellite receiver streams at about 8 Mb/s on a HD channel.
2) Full blu-ray can hit 40 Mb/s.
3) The Pro-HD streams at about 3 Mb/s on a Gb lan with a HD source.

Look at the bitrates and you can prorate the video quality. The Pro-HD also only streams 2 channel audio even when provided with a 5.1 source.

Ok, so even though the stream could be up to 40mbit/s the slingbox Pro-HD would not use it fully eventhough it had the network to support it?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2011, 10:41 AM (This post was last modified: 05-03-2011 10:47 AM by nuke12.)
Post: #8
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
(05-03-2011 10:02 AM)selbach Wrote:  Ok, so even though the stream could be up to 40mbit/s the slingbox Pro-HD would not use it fully eventhough it had the network to support it?

As I've already shown you, I have it on a 1,000 Mb/s network and it's only using 3 Mb/s.

Wait until you get yours and you'll see what I mean. You shouldn't expect the video quality of a Pro-HD to be the same as a PCH because they are designed for different things.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2011, 02:11 PM
Post: #9
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
Slingbox pro-HD feed looks great on my laptop. (And also when connected via hdmi from laptop to TV).

I've used it on internal LAN and also over the internet (I have high upstream bandwidth due to FiOS).


I've always wanted a slingcatcher but they are hard to find (and the ones out there on ebay are expensive).

PCH C-200 500GB 2.5 HDD + CH08LS10-> HDMI -> Onkyo 607 -> Samsung
LNT-5271F -> Harmony 880
Movies served from DNS-323 Using SMB and USB Hard Drive Enclosure Connected to PCH
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
05-03-2011, 02:39 PM
Post: #10
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
(05-03-2011 02:11 PM)louisw Wrote:  Slingbox pro-HD feed looks great on my laptop. (And also when connected via hdmi from laptop to TV).

I've used it on internal LAN and also over the internet (I have high upstream bandwidth due to FiOS).

So you feel the video quality is as good as a PCH playing HD content to the same TV?


(05-03-2011 02:11 PM)louisw Wrote:  I've always wanted a slingcatcher but they are hard to find (and the ones out there on ebay are expensive).

Hmmmm, I should sell mine. It sits in it's box collecting dust most of the time. I prefer Slingplayer's VQ to that of the 'Catcher. It is small and handy if your away from home and travel without your laptop.

C-200, A-110 both playing from a DIY Linux Raid 5 server.

Remuxes, Captures and Transcodes done on a desktop running;
Win7, Intel i7 hexacore processor with 24 GB ram, WD VR OS drive and a WD Black 2 TB data drive.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
10-07-2011, 04:08 PM
Post: #11
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
So I wont expect much improvement on the 'watchable' picture from my slingbox classic. I was hoping it would be possible to stream direct to the pch but just read its not! I'll dig around for tweaks, it wouldnt take much to improve picture quality to 'acceptible'.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-05-2012, 11:58 AM
Post: #12
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
I just ordered my C-300 today, I've also been reading up on other hardware I'm interested in.
One of which is a Slingbox.

I found this topic, just now it seems like there is no App for Popcorn Hour units but I also read Slingbox are expanding their player and have added support for Boxee Box unit (just as popular as Popcorn hour).
So maybe, just maybe a new App could be possible for Popcorn hour owners.

I also found this closed thread here: http://www.networkedmediatank.com/showth...p?tid=4293
It looks like Popcorn Hour team tried to find about working with Slingbox back in 2008.
Has a new attempt been made in 2011 or plans for one now in 2012?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
02-01-2012, 01:45 AM
Post: #13
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
I'd be interested in this too, especially now that there's a Boxee Box application for it, as it clearly means it's getting opened up more.

It could really help solve my US/UK TV issues as I invariably want to watch something from one country when I'm in the other.

Thoughts on Syabas support? Share them here
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
12-28-2012, 10:36 AM
Post: #14
RE: Slingbox -> PCH (working as a slingcatcher)
Anymore updates on this for C-300?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  A-100 still working p1p0 4 177 Yesterday 04:55 AM
Last Post: BrainStormer
  WN100 with new router EA3500 not working SergioR 3 1,658 03-24-2013 11:35 PM
Last Post: SergioR
  [A-110] PCH no longer working heathramos 7 1,351 11-13-2012 05:16 PM
Last Post: heathramos
  HDD Clicking when it seem to be working too hard Atinkler 8 2,723 09-26-2012 08:47 AM
Last Post: gvt100
  A-100 SPDIF output not working cowanrg 0 862 01-17-2012 10:15 PM
Last Post: cowanrg
  USB slave stopped working Mastermind 2 1,210 11-05-2011 07:42 PM
Last Post: Mastermind
  A100 + Sony DAV SC5 home cine = DTS working ? NonoNMT 5 2,393 08-23-2011 03:18 PM
Last Post: Pernod
  anyone have a working a110 they want to sell? philhelm 1 1,122 07-13-2011 03:20 PM
Last Post: chris57
  Almost New Popcorn Hour A-100 - dead not working... please help sahilsehgal 12 6,855 06-14-2011 02:06 AM
Last Post: zombiehunter
  A-100 TP-Link Wifi Adapter Stopped Working freedevil 2 2,649 04-30-2011 08:23 AM
Last Post: fusi0n

Forum Jump: