Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
hdtv setup questions
09-08-2011, 04:15 PM
Post: #1
hdtv setup questions
so i ordered my tv this is the one im getting

http://www.amazon.com/Panasonic-VIERA-TC...B004MME756

i just want to make sure what to change in the pch from sd now to this

first question is what video output do i set it for my tv my tv hits 240hz not sure how this stuff works so play dumb with me i will be setting it up via hdmi so which output do i use out of the hdmi ones


tv type i change to 16:9 correct?

video zoom i have right now at fit to screen that can stay the same?

change colorspace?

now audio..i assume since im just using hdmi and tv speakers that i select hdmi audio on

so i keep everything else the same?

and final question is when do i do this i should change these settings before i hook up the tv then turn off the popcorn hour and connect it to the hdtv and boot popcorn hour back up

or do i wait till i connect it to the hdtv and just change it while in it?

and sort of a bonus question i dont think this tv has a headphone jack based off looking at the connections how can i connect headphones to this tv?

it would be greatly appreciated if someone or some people could answer these questions asap thanks alot
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2011, 08:58 PM
Post: #2
RE: hdtv setup questions
you want to set it to
Resolution 1080p/60
framrate ntsc/24
tv type 16:9
zoom fit to screen
color space 16-235


Hdmi audio on everything set to downmix.

Make these changes before hooking the hdmi up and it should boot right up when you plug it in.

According to the specs it has Digital audio output: 1 (5.1 ch) so maybe an optical out put they sell headphones that work with these.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2011, 10:26 PM
Post: #3
RE: hdtv setup questions
(09-08-2011 08:58 PM)halfelite Wrote:  you want to set it to
Resolution 1080p/60
framrate ntsc/24
tv type 16:9
zoom fit to screen
color space 16-235


Hdmi audio on everything set to downmix.

Make these changes before hooking the hdmi up and it should boot right up when you plug it in.

According to the specs it has Digital audio output: 1 (5.1 ch) so maybe an optical out put they sell headphones that work with these.

thanks for your help im very green when it comes to all thsi hd stuff im very much behind on that part of technology

what about something like this if i buy this http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-Stereo-F...944&sr=8-1

plug that into the pch then plug headphones into that will i get sound out of that with changes to settings i am making and being connected via hdmi i know it might be not the best but will that work..and if its not good enough sound i could get a headphone amp to go in the middle of that connection

sorry to sound dumb but you might have to walk me through a solution if you have one but im curious what you think of my idea
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-08-2011, 11:58 PM (This post was last modified: 09-09-2011 02:04 AM by iamloco724@aol.com.)
Post: #4
RE: hdtv setup questions
(09-08-2011 08:58 PM)halfelite Wrote:  you want to set it to
Resolution 1080p/60
framrate ntsc/24
tv type 16:9
zoom fit to screen
color space 16-235


Hdmi audio on everything set to downmix.

Make these changes before hooking the hdmi up and it should boot right up when you plug it in.

According to the specs it has Digital audio output: 1 (5.1 ch) so maybe an optical out put they sell headphones that work with these.

also i went to take a look at the settings and i see everything else you said but i dont see where you set downmix
sorry to bombard but im so new to this even if i had my popcorn hour for 3 years its like a whole new world doing hd stuff with it

does dts audio in full 1080p mkv work with the a-110 right now

i see all type of conflicting things all over the board even a program created to convert to ac3

what about the a-210 as well
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2011, 03:53 AM
Post: #5
RE: hdtv setup questions
still need help with my last 2 posts
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2011, 03:59 AM
Post: #6
RE: hdtv setup questions
yes dts audio should work with the A110 inside mkv, and it does work with the A210.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2011, 07:21 AM
Post: #7
RE: hdtv setup questions
(09-08-2011 08:58 PM)halfelite Wrote:  you want to set it to
Resolution 1080p/60
framrate ntsc/24
tv type 16:9
zoom fit to screen
color space 16-235

Why 1080p/60 and not 1080p/24? Set does support 24p. BTW, will never get my head around this....

Timeo Danaos Et Dona Ferentes
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2011, 10:16 AM
Post: #8
RE: hdtv setup questions
(09-11-2011 07:21 AM)wvn Wrote:  Why 1080p/60 and not 1080p/24? Set does support 24p. BTW, will never get my head around this....

It really doesnt matter. but with ntsc/24 it will sync at 24 when you play 24p content. and with him being in the US the majority of his stuff should run at 60.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-11-2011, 10:19 AM
Post: #9
RE: hdtv setup questions
Yes unless he is watching bluray yes? Question; If you select a 1080p/60 & ntsc/24, will the output be pure 24p when a 24p source is detected?

Timeo Danaos Et Dona Ferentes
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-12-2011, 06:03 PM
Post: #10
RE: hdtv setup questions
thanks for the info

what about the downmix setting liek i said i dont see that option anywhere
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-12-2011, 06:22 PM
Post: #11
RE: hdtv setup questions
(09-12-2011 06:03 PM)iamloco724@aol.com Wrote:  thanks for the info

what about the downmix setting liek i said i dont see that option anywhere

Downmix was renamed to pcm/something lol I dont remember what if not bitstream/passthrough.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-12-2011, 06:23 PM
Post: #12
RE: hdtv setup questions
(09-12-2011 06:22 PM)halfelite Wrote:  
(09-12-2011 06:03 PM)iamloco724@aol.com Wrote:  thanks for the info

what about the downmix setting liek i said i dont see that option anywhere

Downmix was renamed to pcm/something lol I dont remember what if not bitstream/passthrough.

lol alright thanks again..tv will be coming thurs probably setup fri or the weekend if i run into problems i know where to come lol
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
09-13-2011, 05:11 AM
Post: #13
RE: hdtv setup questions
(09-12-2011 06:22 PM)halfelite Wrote:  
(09-12-2011 06:03 PM)iamloco724@aol.com Wrote:  thanks for the info

what about the downmix setting liek i said i dont see that option anywhere

Downmix was renamed to pcm/something lol I dont remember what if not bitstream/passthrough.

Looking at the settings now since im home..do you mean analog pcm?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Installing new hard drive / Missing NMT Setup Wizard ciao 3 2,529 05-19-2013 11:44 PM
Last Post: ciao
  A-110 initial setup stryker412 7 1,862 04-30-2013 01:57 AM
Last Post: taudelt46
  [A-110] Wifi Setup kallen182 1 1,502 11-27-2011 10:15 PM
Last Post: damluc
  Questions on Hard Drive Formatting NTFS, Ext, USB etc. hamsulu 7 2,745 08-01-2011 01:52 PM
Last Post: hamsulu
Rainbow new HDD for a-110 cant see setup wizard...... esja 9 2,157 02-27-2011 01:46 PM
Last Post: esja
  NMT Applications menu item not showing in setup GoranTornqvist 0 1,182 02-14-2011 10:07 PM
Last Post: GoranTornqvist
  A Few Harmony One Setup Issues Hairy Hippy 2 2,336 02-13-2011 09:05 PM
Last Post: Hairy Hippy
  A few beginner questions regarding Mac sharing Charlie97L 40 7,802 12-27-2010 03:42 PM
Last Post: barontracy
  How do i setup network-use with Pc? najkks 0 884 12-08-2010 02:48 PM
Last Post: najkks
  Hard Drive Disc (setup) Whooper 1 1,078 12-05-2010 09:55 PM
Last Post: Whooper

Forum Jump: