Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Can I use an existing HDD without formatting it?
01-03-2012, 11:46 PM
Post: #1
Can I use an existing HDD without formatting it?
Hi All,

I did check the wiki but couldn't find an answer to this, but if it is somewhere please accept my apologies!

I have just acquired a A-110 NMT and have a 2TB drive to put in it which is on the compatibility list. It has been used as a drive for a media server up until now and is partitioned into two partitions, the primary has been used as boot partition and the second to store the movies and music. Both partitions are NTFS and I don't have enough storage on another drive to keep all the data on.

I thought the easiest way would be to reduce the secondary partition to the current size of the data and extend the primary partition which should then give me enough space on the primary to move the data to it. Then I can delete the secondary partition and extend the primary partition to then cover the whole drive.

At that point can I then connect the drive to another computer, delete all the data except the movies and music folders and install it in the NMT.

Will the NMT allow me to then install the apps on the drive and use it without needing to format it?

Thanks everyone!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2012, 11:48 PM
Post: #2
RE: Can I use an existing HDD without formatting it?
if you want apps installed the drive has to be formatted as it has to be ext3 and split into 4 partitions
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2012, 11:52 PM
Post: #3
RE: Can I use an existing HDD without formatting it?
Thanks for the quick reply!!!

So that would make me think the best way would be to split my movies and music and store them across the other computers I have, format the drive completely using the NMT and then move the data back across once the NMT is up and running?

Cheers!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
01-03-2012, 11:55 PM
Post: #4
RE: Can I use an existing HDD without formatting it?
that is correct. or just leave the files on your pc and stream over network to the pch.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to halfelite for this post
01-03-2012, 11:56 PM
Post: #5
RE: Can I use an existing HDD without formatting it?
Excellent, thank you!!!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Questions on Hard Drive Formatting NTFS, Ext, USB etc. hamsulu 7 2,737 08-01-2011 01:52 PM
Last Post: hamsulu
  why formatting externals to ext 3? iamloco724@aol.com 4 1,514 03-04-2011 10:49 AM
Last Post: chris57
  Invalid Source error when formatting a new 1TB Samsung drive lordy 0 1,026 09-12-2010 05:55 PM
Last Post: lordy
  A100 - Formatting Internal Disk lebleaux 0 974 03-21-2010 10:41 PM
Last Post: lebleaux
  Install HDD without formatting??? neilreddy99 0 2,224 12-18-2009 07:13 PM
Last Post: neilreddy99
  hard drive formatting problem jperezs 0 657 10-29-2009 10:41 AM
Last Post: jperezs
Shield Formatting a hard drive for use in A110, before purchase. JMS 8 2,518 07-28-2009 05:36 PM
Last Post: achadha7

Forum Jump: