Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
03-28-2012, 07:16 AM (This post was last modified: 03-28-2012 07:17 AM by Rated-R-Ron.)
Post: #1
Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
So I've been testing a c-200 this past week, and while overall I think It's a great machine, there's a few things about it which bother me and make me wonder if perhaps these are fixed/actually work in the c-300?

I should note I have the latest firmware running on the c-200.


1 - While the jukebox is nice and all, I like browsing by folders and I dislike the fact that even though all my Movies/Music are organized in folders with individual jpg's, the c-200 doesn't support thumbnail view (only list).
So in essence It doesn't show any of my jpg's when browsing, except if I click on the jpg.

2 - When playing music, the c-200 locks on the playing page and does not allow to use "return" to keep browsing, the only way I can do that is by hitting "stop" on the track that's playing. Really sucks.

3 - My C-200 freezes the video for a second when switching between subtitle tracks. Very annoying.


Please help me decide what to do...

Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 08:01 AM
Post: #2
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
1. I think is semi supported, I don't run stock UI though

2. Yes you can play music and browse now, they ate trying to bring it to the 200 series also

3. Can't say I ever noticed then again did not notice on 200 series either.


Is it worth it for them 3 things is up to you.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 08:13 AM
Post: #3
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
1. Yes its supported on the C300, we refer to what you want as the WDTV UI. Have a look in the C300 or A300 manual at page 38 its called Thumbnail view in the settings

2. You can browse and do other things whilst the Music is playing.

3. Like the poster above not noticed it I suppose it depends on the subtitle type as well.

The C200 will be getting the C300 UI and NMJv2 the firmware after next. The C300 is a faster player and if you can't wait then it may be worth it to you to upgrade. Personally I would wait and see if the 300UI/NMJv2 port does what you want.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 08:20 AM
Post: #4
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
actual thumbgen is not supported, although wouldn't be a hard project for someone to make a little app to browse the system using real thumbgen output/format.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 08:20 AM
Post: #5
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
On point 2 (C200)

While music is playing, press the source key, you will see two icons, one being a musical note, the other is file browse, select it and press enter, now continue browsing your files, use the same method to return.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to Steve007 for this post
03-28-2012, 08:25 AM (This post was last modified: 03-28-2012 08:31 AM by chris57.)
Post: #6
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
Thumbgen is not supported but the guy already has his jpg's so it will work on the 300 for him as he wants. He wont have to download the jpgs and put them in the folder as he has already done that.

Taskswitcher is what the browse whilst music is playing feature on the 200, see the WIKI:

Taskswitcher

The 200 Series have the ability to do more than one function at the same time, it is now possible to view photo's and play music, or play music and browse webservices, etc.

Start a photo slideshow
Press source button, this will open up the taskswitcher
You will see two symbols, the left one is for file list, and the right one shows the photo app
Select filelist to be able to browse whilst still viewing your slideshow
Browse to some mp3's and if you press play on a list of mp3's it plays all tracks
Again press the source button, now you should see 3 symbols
Switch to photoapp again and it will show you the slide show with background music
Press again the source button and go back to the filelist
Press again the source button and choose again the filelist
This will bring go to the source carousel now you can go to webservice and browse
That is the reason why it is called Taskswitcher


A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 09:30 AM
Post: #7
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
(03-28-2012 08:20 AM)Steve007 Wrote:  On point 2 (C200)

While music is playing, press the source key, you will see two icons, one being a musical note, the other is file browse, select it and press enter, now continue browsing your files, use the same method to return.

Nice!
Was not aware of this little navigation move, Thank you very much for the info.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 10:52 PM
Post: #8
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
(03-28-2012 07:16 AM)Rated-R-Ron Wrote:  3 - My C-200 freezes the video for a second when switching between subtitle tracks. Very annoying.

Ive noticed this many times and its been there from since the 200 series came on the market. Ive tried bringing it to the attention of others that this do indeed happen and it did not happed on the 100 series and it was brushed under the carpet as i was the only one who experienced it.

MKV with embedded subs, does not matter what the sub format is, it always happens.Angle

Maybe you can help shed some light on this matter.

PCH A-200 16GB USB -> HDMI -> Samsung LN46A650 | A200 -> Toslink -> Logitech Z-5500 (Harmony 700)
PCH C-200 8GB USB -> HDMI -> Sharp LC46D64U (Harmony 550)
Eversion Whisper eskin + WHS V1 (25TB Q6600/4GB RAM ) -> Mediasonic HR82-SU3S2 (Backup)
D-Link DNS 323 for sale
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 11:08 PM
Post: #9
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
(03-28-2012 10:52 PM)Specter Wrote:  
(03-28-2012 07:16 AM)Rated-R-Ron Wrote:  3 - My C-200 freezes the video for a second when switching between subtitle tracks. Very annoying.

Ive noticed this many times and its been there from since the 200 series came on the market. Ive tried bringing it to the attention of others that this do indeed happen and it did not happed on the 100 series and it was brushed under the carpet as i was the only one who experienced it.

MKV with embedded subs, does not matter what the sub format is, it always happens.Angle

Maybe you can help shed some light on this matter.


Absolutely. happenes every time with mkv.
Correct, does not matter if embedded or .srt or what not.
Very annoying... don't understand why so few have this issue, or are people just not noticing?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 11:09 PM
Post: #10
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
(03-28-2012 11:08 PM)Rated-R-Ron Wrote:  Absolutely. happenes every time with mkv.
Correct, does not matter if embedded or .srt or what not.
Very annoying... don't understand why so few have this issue, or are people just not noticing?

Not that many run subtitles, or if they do they start them at the start of the video
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
03-28-2012, 11:22 PM
Post: #11
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
(03-28-2012 11:09 PM)halfelite Wrote:  
(03-28-2012 11:08 PM)Rated-R-Ron Wrote:  Absolutely. happenes every time with mkv.
Correct, does not matter if embedded or .srt or what not.
Very annoying... don't understand why so few have this issue, or are people just not noticing?

Not that many run subtitles, or if they do they start them at the start of the video

That could be it, as a workaround i started remuxing all movies that are English but have foreign dialogue with forced English subs only for the foreign dialogue. Movies like 2012, The Day the Earth Stood Still, Vantage Point, District 9, Babel, etc

I also turned on subtitles by default in the PCH menu, this meant that i had to go back and remove subtitles from all movies that did not need them but it has worked for me.

As for the OP as a quick fix you may have to remux the files that need subtitles or turn on subtitles globally.

There may be something else at work here that is isolated to our setups but i highly doubt it as ive tried is on C200 and A200, Samsung LCD TV and Sharp LCD TV, played files from local and from network, Auto framerate on/off, ive tried everything i can think of.

If you ever figure find a solution, please shareCool

PCH A-200 16GB USB -> HDMI -> Samsung LN46A650 | A200 -> Toslink -> Logitech Z-5500 (Harmony 700)
PCH C-200 8GB USB -> HDMI -> Sharp LC46D64U (Harmony 550)
Eversion Whisper eskin + WHS V1 (25TB Q6600/4GB RAM ) -> Mediasonic HR82-SU3S2 (Backup)
D-Link DNS 323 for sale
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 07:10 AM
Post: #12
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
All can[Image: T2n3OBXl0aXXXXXXXX_!!79461875.jpg]
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-05-2012, 10:45 AM
Post: #13
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
(03-28-2012 08:13 AM)chris57 Wrote:  The C200 will be getting the C300 UI and NMJv2 the firmware after next. The C300 is a faster player and if you can't wait then it may be worth it to you to upgrade. Personally I would wait and see if the 300UI/NMJv2 port does what you want.

Any idea on when this could be happening? the latest FW is 8 months old...

If this message was usefull for you please thank me.

If you have found me or my programs usefull please click on my reputation and let me know... I have a reputation to hold up
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 02:02 AM
Post: #14
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
(03-28-2012 08:13 AM)chris57 Wrote:  1. Yes its supported on the C300, we refer to what you want as the WDTV UI. Have a look in the C300 or A300 manual at page 38 its called Thumbnail view in the settings

Might be worth mentioning this only works with some storage types, for example, UPNP does not let you use thumbnail view, which is a shame. Nor sorting..
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-06-2012, 03:54 PM
Post: #15
RE: Unhappy with C-200, should I buy a C-300??
go for Dune it is just Plug and Play, not Plug and Prey as with the Sybase Boxes!

Bye C-200...
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.



Smilies
:) ;) :cool: :D
:P :rolleyes: :shy: :(
:lightbulb: :angry: :-/ (A)
:heart: :dodgy: :blush: :huh:
:my: :sleepy: :exclamation: :S
[get more]

Forum Jump: