Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Just ordered a-300
04-11-2012, 05:07 PM
Post: #1
Just ordered a-300
Like the subject said, I just ordered a A-300, pretty excited. I had been using my pc as kinda a sudo HTPC by running it into my projector and using XBMC. Kinda lead to hassles with my other stuff stealing focus on occasion and locking the pc down from anyone else using it.

Currently I rip all my blurays with makeMKV and store them in a bulk movies folder with just the files.

Few questions to help me prepare.
- will my current storage structure work ok? Just a bunch of files in a movie folder.

- I also thought about reripping some movies in full folder format so I can use the menus and special features since this player supports that. Do I just drop all the folders into a folder with the movie name?

-MakeMKV is set to just rip the forced subtitles. It does not mark them as forced. I leave them in PGS format. Does PCH autoplay the first subtitle in the file. Or do I need to remux the files and mark them as forced? Does PCH handle PGS subtitles fine? I know some players have a problem with them.

Anything else you think I should do to prep?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2012, 07:11 PM
Post: #2
RE: Just ordered a-300
First thing first yes putting all your movies in one folder works but it can get messy if you start adding local artwork/nfo files, Most people do something like
/movies/movie.name/movie.name.mkv Just to keep everything separate but it does not matter. make sure all your movie titles are good and clean something like moviename (year).mkv

Ripping folder, correct you will get a folder that is called bdmv just do something like /movies/movie.name/bdmv/

subtitles gets a little tricky, If they are not marked as forced it will not autostart them and it doesnt play the first file but it does play a track that matches default language. Under setup you set your subtitle language and if it matches it will play, so if your language is set to english and the tracks are titled english they will default play . There are still a couple problems with mkv/PGS but i have not tested lately there was an issue with the subs staying on the screen to long after the line had finished.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2012, 07:44 PM
Post: #3
RE: Just ordered a-300
If I play straight from a bluray folder rip it should play just perfect regarding subtitles correct?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2012, 07:45 PM
Post: #4
RE: Just ordered a-300
correct
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2012, 09:07 PM
Post: #5
RE: Just ordered a-300
The more I read, the more it seems like thier are a lot of little quirks and what not. Is this exaggerated because of the Internet, or are you constantly having to tweak stuff?
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2012, 09:13 PM
Post: #6
RE: Just ordered a-300
there are quirks but it depends on your media, For me I run avi/mp4/mkv without issue, I rarely use subtitles so no issue there, and i for the most part play 100% trouble free
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2012, 09:15 PM
Post: #7
RE: Just ordered a-300
Only subtitles I use are for foreign language sections in movies.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-11-2012, 09:45 PM (This post was last modified: 04-11-2012 09:46 PM by accident.)
Post: #8
RE: Just ordered a-300
these players are many peoples first experience with any media device or non-windows/mac.. so yes there are a hell of a lot of the same post making it look like widespread problems but it's mostly inexperience.

You'll probably need to tweak a few settings at first but you will not be constantly tweaking and adjusting things.. I also got tired of the htpc world, while better than it was 5 years ago, these boxes are far more reliable. not flawless but simple to deal with the flaws.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


[-]
Quick Reply
Message
Type your reply to this message here.



Smilies
:) ;) :cool: :D
:P :rolleyes: :shy: :(
:lightbulb: :angry: :-/ (A)
:heart: :dodgy: :blush: :huh:
:my: :sleepy: :exclamation: :S
[get more]

Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Has playback of Ordered Chapters ever been implemented? buzzbuzz 2 993 03-05-2012 10:12 AM
Last Post: buzzbuzz
  Ordered C-200 with BDR-200 Sunsoar 5 4,102 05-06-2011 03:51 AM
Last Post: popcornhoursales
  How do I enable Ordered chapters in MKV? SEELE01 1 2,164 05-06-2009 05:28 AM
Last Post: ChinaJade
  Ordered A110 but receive A100 lowyatt 12 3,704 12-27-2008 10:23 AM
Last Post: chris57
  I ordered my popcorn hour about two weeks ago.... dotrat1989 1 897 09-11-2008 03:34 AM
Last Post: tcronin

Forum Jump: