Firmware: A-410 [01 Apr. 2014] | A-400 [12 Mar. 2014] | C-300 [13 Feb. 2014] | A-300 [24 Feb. 2014] | C-200 [11 July 2013] | A-200/A-210 [11 July 2013] | Popbox V8 [3 Dec 2013]

Just got your NMT | WIKI has the answers | Search the forum | Forum Rules/Policy | Firmware & Official NMT News | Popcornhour manuals



User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Post Reply 
Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
04-22-2012, 07:33 AM
Post: #1
Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
hi all,

I have tried finding a specific answer on the forums with no luck so hoping someone here can help.
I would like to use the Devolo DLan 500 powerline system to stream a BD rip through the mains wiring in the house. Would this system be able to cope with an untouched 1080p blu ray rip (note .m2ts not .mkv) with HD audio?

Any help would be appreciated!
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-22-2012, 08:42 AM
Post: #2
RE: Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
Forgot to mention, I was hoping to use myihome (http) to do this.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-22-2012, 09:59 AM
Post: #3
RE: Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
You will not be able to get any guarantees with powerline as it depends on the quality of your electrical circuit and distance.

The only guaranteed way is with ethernet cable.

A400: SD Card(Apps), HDMI C200: USB(Apps), BD ROM (SH-B083L(SB01)), HDMI
CAT6 Wired Network: TV Panasonic TX-P42G20, HP ProCurve 1400-8G, Netgear GS-608/605, Synology CS407
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
04-25-2012, 12:25 PM
Post: #4
RE: Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
(04-22-2012 07:33 AM)adrianjadams Wrote:  hi all,

I have tried finding a specific answer on the forums with no luck so hoping someone here can help.
I would like to use the Devolo DLan 500 powerline system to stream a BD rip through the mains wiring in the house. Would this system be able to cope with an untouched 1080p blu ray rip (note .m2ts not .mkv) with HD audio?

Any help would be appreciated!

I use the Devolo DLan 500 to access a Synology NAS (NFS, never tried http).

It works well for mkv - no issues whatsoever.

However, there is a big variability on where in our home I put the plugs, ie, some rooms get significantly higher speeds than other (though as mentioned always fast enough for 1080p mkv).

I have only one m2ts in my collection and that did not work properly on my A110. However, I was not sure whether it was due to the network or the A110 not liking the file.

Net, there is no guarantee that the DLan 500 will work with your set-up (especially the wiring in the house in combination with http) to give you the speeds needed for m2ts. For mkv already the previous version (200 series) worked well / was fast enough, btw.

jak
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
[+] 1 user says Thank You to jak456 for this post
08-04-2013, 01:06 PM (This post was last modified: 08-04-2013 01:07 PM by evilandy3000.)
Post: #5
RE: Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
I'm not sure how accurate the above answers are.

I have a Devolo 200 kit, one with an ethernet port and one with three ethernet ports and WiFi.
I have a Devolo 500 kit, both containing one ethernet port.

When I swap out the devices, I have a problem with the 500 but no problem with the 200.

Same location, different devices.

I'm wondering if the problem is with the lack of TCP/IP assigning in the 500. With the 200, I can assign an IP address but not the 500 (due to the version being used).

I've removed my Netgear modem router and tried everything on a managed switch and an unmanaged switch. I'm still getting problems with the 500.

I'd like to try a Devolo 500 with assignable IP and see how this stands. Does anyone have experience of this type of setup?

Thanks,

EA

Oh, I forgot to mention. I'm using FreeNAS 8.2 as my network server.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-04-2013, 02:11 PM
Post: #6
RE: Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
Hi Everyone,

Well through a process of trial and error, I've found the culprit. I left an AV 200 upstairs. It seems as though the 200mini upstairs prevents the 500 from working. When I remove all 200s, Popcorn Hour streams nicely.

I'm a bit disappointed by this because I thought all of the Devolos were meant to work together.

Maybe there is something on the wifi side causing a problem.

I'll need further investigation.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
08-24-2013, 02:52 PM
Post: #7
RE: Devolo Dlan 500 with A110
I have A110 which worked flawlessly with Devolo AV 500.

now I got A400 and am bringing it home.

Power plugs have to be tested to get the best result, but I easly found that every one in my apartment can easily stream to A110 (I will post A400 results when I test them) - this was simultaneously done
1. avatar HDTV version from 11GB original file no stuttering unless I do a lot of seeking and skipping.
2. iphone airplaying to my AV Pioneer 2021-K VSK through SAME Devolo DLAN plug.
3. PS3 playing network Dust514 game - same dLAN plug.


worked flawlessly.

I expect no less from A400.
Find all posts by this user
Add Thank You Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  FTP server not starting on PCH-A110 stone28 13 5,655 01-19-2014 04:53 PM
Last Post: subpop
  Problem connecting to PCH A110 Internal HDD over network via bridge nlanks 0 667 01-04-2014 03:32 PM
Last Post: nlanks
  A110 with two data partitions darkav 9 3,208 11-15-2013 02:51 PM
Last Post: mr_bartowski
  A110 remote contol code primero 2 1,023 09-27-2013 02:34 PM
Last Post: primero
  How to get Win 7 PC to see A110 NMT PeterW 1 1,089 09-11-2013 02:29 PM
Last Post: PeterW
  Install Pyload on A110 fifiloulou 2 1,261 09-10-2013 02:50 PM
Last Post: fifiloulou
  A110 Mass drive transfer Unit One 1 1,001 09-04-2013 11:41 PM
Last Post: VideoRipper
  a110 dirs became empty korzh_yura 2 1,075 07-30-2013 01:58 PM
Last Post: korzh_yura
  A110 died Darkbill 2 1,240 07-09-2013 07:35 PM
Last Post: Cappy1
  PCH A110 - 4TB Seagate External EXT3 accessibility mharidimou 3 1,942 05-28-2013 05:38 PM
Last Post: mharidimou

Forum Jump: